Homemade Granola- Fantastic Food Friday

Introducing Fantastic Food Fridays! Starting this month I’ll be sharing some of my favorite recipes on Friday. I’m kicking it off with my favorite breakfast- homemade granola!

I love this homemade granola with greek yogurt, or milk and a cut up banana. This granola is quick and easy and so yummy! This recipe is based off of one my mom gave me, but I eliminated the brown sugar and boosted the protein by replacing half the oatmeal with TVP.

In large bowl, mix
2 cups dry, old fashioned oatmeal- not instant
1 10 oz bag TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein) (if you don’t use TVP, increase oatmeal to 4 cups)
1 cup coconut
.5 cup flax seed
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger

In a small pan, mix
1/2 cup coconut oil
2 tbsp water
2 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup maple syrup

Simmer oil, sugar, water, vanilla and syrup.
Mix oatmeal, coconut, flax seed, TVP, cinnamon and ginger in large bow.

Pour syrup over oatmeal mix. Bake at 300*F for 35 minutes. Stir after 20 minutes. Let cool completely and store in air tight container. Because we usually all grab a handful or two while its cooling I find a half-gallon mason jar works perfectly!

Serving Size: makes 19- 1/2 cup servings

Amount Per Serving- figured from http://www.sparkrecipes.com
Calories- 187, Fat 9g, Carbs 19g, Fiber 4.5g, Protein 9g

I also sometimes add a cup of pumpkin seeds and replace the cinnamon/ginger with a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice. Tell me how you would change it up in the comments!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 12:21:30

    I have made your original recipe and LOVED it. I think I will try using the TVP and pumpkin seeds to take along on my Philippines trip! Do the pumpkin seeds add any protein? However, for granola 9 grams of protein at 187 calories is GREAT! with a cup of almond milk that would make a great breakfast for me! Thanks for posting!

    Reply

    • hovis1tl
      Feb 07, 2014 @ 12:35:08

      Hi Diane, It will add a little bit of protein. On SparkRecipes where I figure everything, this is what i came up with when adding a 2.25 oz bag of pumpkin seeds. Calories: 202.5, Total Fat: 9.4 g, Total Carbs: 20.7 g, Dietary Fiber: 4.9 g, Protein: 9.4 g.

      Hope that helps!

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Recent Posts

Tara Hovis

Good Food * Good Health * Good Life

CHOOSE FIT

If it doesn't challenge you, it doesn't change you

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Oceans & Eyedroppers

Even small actions can make waves.

The Clean Eating Mama

~Health, Wellness, Positive Thinking and Physical Happiness~

