Fantastic Food Friday- Tangy Turkey Mac n Cheese

August 1st! To me, August 1st is the official kick off to canning season, which is silly because the best jam making happens in June when strawberries are plentiful. Maybe that’s preseason. Getting us warmed up for August. Getting are muscles into shape for lifting heavy buckets of produce and full canner loads.

And if you are like me, you way underestimate the time needed to make something and then all of the sudden your kids and husband want dinner! Aaagghhhh! Need something fast and healthy!

So you open the fridge and see…. Nothing. Oops, so caught up in canning you forget to get groceries. I’m not the only one, right? RIGHT?!

But, sometimes, the best dishes are the ones I just throw together. Usually, they are made up of random things I have in my pantry or fridge. Like, last week, my mom came over. We needed to make lunch, but since it was the day before grocery shopping, pickins’ were pretty slim. Luckily, she brought a package of ground turkey, so I used that has inspiration. I knew my girls would eat pasta and I wanted something creamy. Homemade mac n cheese had come to mind, but I didn’t have milk to make a roux… so… this is what I came up with….

 

Tangy Turkey Mac n Cheese

1 20 oz pack ground turkey, cooked, scrambled, seasoned with salt and pepper, garlic, onion powder and parsley. Really, use whatever you want. How about some Italian seasoning on there?

½ box of whole wheat pasta pasta, like elbow macaroni, cooked and drained

1 bag frozen broccoli, cooked (or add it to the pasta to cook at the same time) (I like Kroger’s dinner starters)

1 6 oz container of plain Greek yogurt

1 8 oz package shredded cheddar cheese

 

Once everything is cooked, stir it all together in one big pot over low heat until cheese is melted. It was tangy, creamy, cheesy and pretty darn good! The ingredients are staples in my house and I usually have them all- even at the end of the week!

 

Have boxed macaroni and cheese? We love Annie’s Homegrown! Here are some stir in ideas!

 

Tuna and peas

Shredded chicken and broccoli (so good on white cheddar!)

Cut up hot dogs

Tomato (How about some basil too?)

Mushrooms

Ground beef and pepper

Left over taco meat and salsa

Diced ham

 

What do you put in your mac n cheese?

I'd love to hear what you think!

Recent Posts

Tara Hovis

Good Food * Good Health * Good Life

CHOOSE FIT

If it doesn't challenge you, it doesn't change you

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Oceans & Eyedroppers

Even small actions can make waves.

The Clean Eating Mama

~Health, Wellness, Positive Thinking and Physical Happiness~

