It’s HARD.

Being overweight is hard. Losing weight is hard.

Losing weight is hard.

It’s hard taking the time to plan meals and snacks.
It’s hard knowing I’m doing the best I can with little to no results. Like eating darn near perfect, working out 4 times a week and losing 2 pounds. In two months.
It’s hard trying to motivate myself to go to the gym.
It’s hard looking in the mirror and not liking what I see.
It’s hard feeling guilty after allowing a treat.
It’s hard being afraid that allowing a certain treat (usually something high in fat) will send me into a downward spiral that could potentially undo months of hard work.
It’s hard knowing others are judging you because they think you lack self-control.
It’s hard hearing “I just cut out pop and lost 20 pounds in 2 months” when it takes me 2 years to lose that much.
It’s hard knowing that I have a tumor that messes with my hormones that causes an extremely low weight loss or even weight gain if I don’t eat enough protein.

It’s HARD.

I’m learning to look beyond the scale. My cravings are going away, although I still have them time to time. I’m learning to deal with emotions instead of feeding them. I’m learning exercise helps with depression. I’m learning more about my body, how it responds to certain things. I’m learning it’s not about what the number is, but how healthy I am.

If you are feeling discouraged, take the time to list some reasons how you know you are getting healthier, even if the scale isn’t moving.

Here is my list.

1. waist to hip ratio. Under 0.8 is my goal.
2. craving healthier foods, like veggies and fruit instead of candy and chips!
3. regular exercise
4. more energy
5. pants fit
6. decrease in joint pain, especially my knees!
7. decrease in illnesses

(Originally posted at myhealthytemple.blog.com.)

I'd love to hear what you think!

Recent Posts

Tara Hovis

Good Food * Good Health * Good Life

CHOOSE FIT

If it doesn't challenge you, it doesn't change you

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Oceans & Eyedroppers

Even small actions can make waves.

The Clean Eating Mama

~Health, Wellness, Positive Thinking and Physical Happiness~

